Town Hall

6704 State Hwy 66
Custer, WI 54423

Town Board Meetings

2nd Tuesday - 6:30PM

Plan Commission Meetings

1st Tuesday - 6:30PM
when necessary

Town of Sharon Bulletin Board

4:30 pm to 6:30 pm            Tuesday & Thursday
9 am to 3 pm                      Wednesday
9 am to 12 noon                  Saturday, May 7 and 14
Please text or call 715-321-6201 before or after these hours.
If we are not in the office any you have something to drop off (i.e. a dog license), please use the black drop box by the front door and we will mail it back to you. 
Thank you!
Pam Filtz, Clerk

NOTICE IS HERBY GIVEN that the Town of Sharon, Portage County, will be open for examination on the 1st day of June, 2022 from 10:00 AM – 12:00 PM (noon) at the Town of Sharon Hall, 6704 State Highway 66, Custer, WI. 54423. The assessor will be available remotely during this time.    
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the Board of Review for the Town of Sharon of Portage County shall hold its meeting on the 8th day of June, 2022 from 5:30 PM to 7:30 PM at the Town of Sharon hall located at 6704 State Hwy 66 Custer, WI 54423.  
Please be advised of the following requirements to appear before the Board of Review and procedural requirements if appearing before the Board: 

No person shall be allowed to appear before the Board of Review, to testify to the board by telephone or to contest the amount of any assessment of real or personal property if the person has refused a reasonable written request by certified mail of the assessor to view such property.

  • After the first meeting of the Board of Review and before the boards’ final adjournment, no person who is scheduled to appear before the Board of Review may contact, or provide information to, a member of the board about the person’s objection except at a session of the board.
  •  No person may appear before the Board of Review, testify to the board by telephone or contest the amount of any assessment unless, at least 48 hours before the first meeting of the board or at least 48 hours before the objection is heard if the objection is allowed under sec 70.47 (3) (a), that person provides to the clerk of the board of review notice as to whether the person will ask for removal under sec 70.47 (6m) (a) and if so which member will be removed and the person's reasonable estimate of the length of time that the hearing will take.  
  • When appearing before the board, the person shall specify, in writing, the person's estimate of the value of the land and of the improvements that are the subject of the person's objection and specify the information that the person used to arrive at the estimate.
  •  No person may appear before the Board of Review, testify to the board by telephone or subject or object to a valuation; if that valuation was made by the assessor or the objector using the income method; unless the person supplies the assessor all of the information about income and expenses, as specified in the manual under Sec. 73.03(2a), that the assessor requests.  The Town of Sharon has an ordinance for the confidentiality of information about income and expenses that is provided to the assessor under this paragraph, which provides exemptions for persons using information in the discharge of duties imposed by law or of the duties of their office or by order of a court.  The information that is provided under this paragraph, unless a court determined that it is inaccurate, is not subject to the right of inspection and copying under Section 19.35 (1) of Wis. Stats.
  • The board shall hear upon oath, by telephone, all ill or disabled persons who present to the Board a letter from a physician, surgeon or osteopath that confirms their illness or disability.  No other persons may testify by telephone.

Pam Filtz, Town of Sharon, Clerk/Treasurer

Our Easter Egg Hunt 2022 was a success - even though mother nature did not do her part with a warmer day. But, we had 149 registered egg hunters & plenty of supporters. These egg hunters were jumping, skipping, hopping, singing, etc. in order to retrieve some of those +3000 eggs! It was a fun time & the park committee cannot be more proud of our numerous volunteers & outstretched arms
of our community. Your generosity & support goes above & beyond our expectations. Thank you
from the bottom of our hearts.

We are planning another fundraiser in September/October 2022. We are contemplating a steak
night & am working out the details. Like any event, we need several volunteers to help or monetary donations to offset the cost. If you are interested in volunteering, baking a dessert/ making a salad &/or contributing toward this fundraiser or future improvements, you may contact
Kris Kranski 715-630-5169 or Gayle Hintz 715-340-1857.

Your monetary donation can be mailed to: Town of Sharon Attn: Polonia Park 6704 State Hwy 66 Custer, WI 54423 with check payable to: Polonia Park.

Stay tuned as we continue our park improvement plans which includes an open/closed pavilion, playground area, landscaping, picnic tables, benches, parking lot & of course a baseball diamond.
Our floor plan is in the works & hope to share our foresight for your town park soon.

Lori Printz
Polonia Park Committee
May 18, 2022


Town of Sharon, Portage County, WI

Sharon is a town in Portage County, Wisconsin.  The population as of January 1, 2020 for Town of Sharon is 2078.  This makes Sharon the county's 5th most populous community.  The unincorporated communities of Ellis, North Star and Polonia are located within the town.  Sharon is the second largest town (out of 17 towns) in Portage County in terms of geographic size, encompassing an area of approximately 41,488 acres or 64.9 miles of which 64.3 square miles of it is land and .6 square miles (or 384 acres) is water.

The Town of Sharon is located on the northern edge of Portage County and is bordered on the north by Marathon County, on the south by the Town of Stockton, on the east by the Towns of New Hope and Alban, and on the west by the Towns of Hull and Dewey.

Up until 1960, the Town of Sharon was a typical rural agriculture-based community with a steadily declining population, due mostly to the changes in agriculture economy.  Thus, the decade of the 1960's marked the end of the Town of Sharon's declining population and the beginning of a growth period that continues today.

The region was first wooded and attracted lumbermen.  When it was cleared of trees, it became farmland.  Among the pioneer settlers were Irish and German Catholics who set down roots where Ellis is today.  In 1857, the first Polish family settled in this area, creating the first Polish rural settlement in the State and the second in the United States.   Coming along with these Polish emigrants was their respect of the land, religion, family and an ethic of hard work.

Polonia was named by a Polish priest when he established a new Catholic church east of Ellis.  By the 1900's at least 10,000 people, more than one-third of the Portage County population were of Polish descent.  Polish Americans continued the legacy given by their ancestors. This legacy is also evident by the dedication of Highway 66 as the Polish Heritage Highway.

Whether you are a long-time or new resident of the Town of Sharon or a visitor to our community, we thank you for visiting our website.